Latest News from MGM


Dr. Michelle Ozbun was awarded a new 5-year R01 award from the National Cancer Institute to study the mechanisms of Human Papillomavirus infection.

Dr. Judy Cannon received the Outstanding Mentor award at the 2017 Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program research day.

Two MGM Professors, Dr. David Peabody and Dr. Bryce Chackerian, have been selected to receive the STC.UNM 2017 Innovation Fellow Award

Congratulations to Dr. Eliseo Castillo.  Dr. Castillo, a former research assistant professor in MGM, has been hired as a tenure-track investigator through the UNM CTSC KL2 scholars program.


Dr. Kiran Bhaskar (pictured below) was awarded the 2016 UNM HSC Junior Faculty Research Award.  Congratulations!

Research Award

Dr. David Peabody was awarded a $250,000 award to develop malaria vaccines and also received funding (along with Dr. Steven Bradfute and Dr. Bryce Chackerian) from the UNM CTSC to identify vaccines for Zika Virus.

Dr. Ellen Beswick was awarded a 5-year $1.7 million grant by the National Cancer Institute to study an approach for slowing the growth of colorectal cancers.  See the article here.


Dr. Kiran Bhaskar's work to develop a vaccine for Alzheimer's Disease was highlighted in an article in the Albuquerque Journal. See the article here.